• Assessment Information for Centennial School District:


    District Assessment Calendar

    The Centennial School District Assessment Calendar 2019-2020 can be accessed at this link:

    CSD District Assessment Calendar (Revised as of 1.24.20)

    General Information about PSSA and Keystone Exams

    The Pennsylvania State Assessment System has aligned the PSSA to the new PA Core Standards for reading, writing, and mathematics. The reading and writing assessments will be assessed together in the English Language Arts PSSA (ELA) in grades 3 through 8. 

    As done in the past few years, the Keystone Exams will continue to be administered at the secondary level in Algebra, Biology, and ELA. Proficiency is a graduation requirement for students starting with the class of 2019.

    Pennsylvania System of School Assessment (PSSA)

    The PSSA Testing Window for Grades 3-8 can be located at the PDE link below:

    PSSA Testing Window 2019-2020

     *Click here to access parent information regarding the PSSA Test. 

     Keystone Exams

    Students are expected to complete the Keystone Exam at the end of a related course. The courses that require a Keystone Exam are Algebra, Literature, and Biology. The Algebra I Keystone Exam is administered at the end of this course which could be in middle or high school depending upon when a student is enrolled. The Biology Keystone Exam is administered at the end of 9th Grade, and the Literature Keystone Exam is administered at the end of 10th Grade. Any student who scores below proficient may take the test a second time during the next testing window.

    The Keystone Exam Testing Window can be located at the PDE link below:

     Keystone Exams Testing Window 2019-2020


    Pennsylvania Alternative System of Assessment (PASA)

    The Pennsylvania Alternate System of Assessment (PASA) is a statewide alternate assessment designed for students with the most significant cognitive disabilities. Specifically, it is intended for those who are unable to participate meaningfully in the Pennsylvania State Assessment System (PSSA) even with accommodations. By administering the PASA to students with severe disabilities, schools achieve compliance with federal laws and the Pennsylvania School Code that require that all students participate in the statewide accountability system.

    The PASA is a series of individually administered image-based multiple-choice tests given each spring to students by their teacher or another certified Test Administrator who knows the student well. Test administration can be adapted so that even students with the most severe disabilities can participate in the assessment and receive a score. 

    The test, administered to students in the equivalent of grades 3 through 8 and 11, consists of 30 test items aligned with PA English Language Arts (ELA) standards; 30 test items aligned with PA math standards; and, for students in grades 4, 8, and 11 30 test items aligned with PA science standards. Each test item represents an authentic, relevant, and age-appropriate skill related to ELA, mathematics, or science. There are three levels of difficulty within each grade for ELA and math and two levels of difficulty for grades tested in science. 

    Information regarding PASA can be located at the PDE link below:

    PASA Testing Window 2019-2020

     NWEA MAP Assessment

    Measures of Academic Progress (MAP) Assessments are computer adaptive tests created by NWEA that students take two to three times per school year. Teachers can see the progress of individual students and of their class as a whole. Principals and administrators can see the progress of a grade level, school, or the entire district. The results provide teachers with information to help them deliver appropriate content for each student and determine each student’s academic growth over time. This data is often used to help students set goals and understand what they need to learn to achieve their goals.

    During the 2019-20 school year, MAP Reading Fluency will be administered to K-2; MAP Reading Growth will be administered to Grades 3-10; and MAP Math Growth will be adminstered to K–10.

    For more information about the NWEA MAP Growth and MAP Reading Fluency assessments, please visit: NWEA.org/Parent-Toolkit.


    World-Class Instructional Design and Assessment (WIDA)

    The WIDA test is given to students who are enrolled in the ESL (English as a Second Language) program. This assessment test students on the level of proficiency in the English language. Students who are ELL (English Language Learners) will take this test until they are promoted out of the ESL program.